3 Comments

The Power of Performance

Wondering what you are passionate about? Look to the fun and entertainment you choose as clues to what moves you at a soul level.

A little more than a week ago, I went to see a production of the Broadway musical, RENT. This is an amazing show, now celebrating its 10th year on Broadway. The synopsis of the show is: “A rock opera that tells the story of one year in the life of a group of bohemians struggling in modern day East Village New York. The story centers around Mark (Anthony Rapp) and Roger (Adam Pascal), two roommates. While a former tragedy has made Roger numb to life, Mark tries to capture it through his attempts to make a film. In the year that follows, the group deals with love, loss, AIDS, and modern day life in one truly powerful story.”

The show has developed a sort of cult following. When you see the show, it is clear that many members of the audience are not seeing it for their first time (there is one part of the show where the entire audience “moo-s” along with the character, Maureen). Admittedly, this was my third or fourth time seeing the show. The story is engaging, riveting, and touching. The music and voices are amazing – chill-generating even. It is a very high-energy, sometimes loud, rock musical. If you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend it.

Now, I have always been someone who is incredibly moved by powerful performances, whether they be musical, theatrical, or dance. There’s something about the singer/actor/dancer’s ability to get up on that stage and be fully engaged in their passion; to share their love for it, not for a hoped response from their audience, but just because they must do it.

When I watch someone perform – someone who moves me – I am completely enraptured by what I am seeing – so much so you’d think I know the people up on that stage. The sense of connection I feel with them; the sense of pride I feel for them can sometimes move me to tears. Particularly, music. See someone singing a powerful number with beautiful lyrics, and you’ll most likely see tears coming down my face.

What does this mean? Perhaps I was a performer in a past life and can truly relate to the feeling of being on stage. Perhaps I dream of singing someday (although I care far too deeply about people to put them through that torture!). Perhaps I only need to recognize that these activities are incredibly soul-nurturing to me and I must make them an ongoing part of my life to keep my spirit soaring.

So, what do you love to do? What activities make your heart sing, so much so you feel right down to your toes? Without any sort of judgement, identify what those things are for you and make them a regular part of your world.

3 comments on “The Power of Performance

  1. Hi. One of my favorite things to do is it to see STING perform . His music makes me feel so invigorated and he inspires me as well. He is an amazing performer and he exudes such peace in his performance.My dream is to one day see him front row center! At 55 years young he really shows us that when you do what you love you always look great!

  2. Thanks for the comment, Matthew! Paul McCartney is amazing – just think of how long he has been able to keep our attention; and not just keep our attention, but continue to Wow us. That’s talent. Andt that’s a gift. I love the image of you thinking of your Dad during Let It Be. Thanks for sharing that.

  3. So, it took a while for me to think of a performance that truly moved me. Then it hit me when I popped in my Paul McCartney CD the other day. That was it! Not when he toured in 1990, which was awesome, but in 2002, The Freedom Tour, was the most amazing show I’ve ever seen. The energy in the crowd can not be put into words. For 3 hours that night, 26,000 people all felt the same energy, you could see it on their faces and feel it in the air. I get chills each time I think about, like now, as I type this. During my Father’s favorite song, Let it Be, I looked to the sky, and said, I love and miss you Pop, but I know your here close by enjoying this with me.

    That was one powerful performance!
    Matthew

Leave a Reply

