4 Comments

The Possibilities a New Year Brings

I’m still settling in to 2007. I’m always amazed at how fast time goes by. It seems like it was yesterday – New Year’s Eve, 1999, gathered with a few friends chatting about what was going to happen at the turn of midnight. Would the world as we know it cease to exist? Would my computer spontaneously combust on my desk? Would we all start walking upside-down on our hands? There was so much speculation as to what that change in the date would mean. And, soon we were counting down… 5… 4… 3… 2… 1…. and………. nothing.

I realize we can be a pretty narcissistic country from time to time, but what makes us think that if something momentous was going to happen at the turn of the date, that it had to happen when our clocks hit 12:01 AM. And for that matter, was the devastation supposed to occur at midnight ET or PT?

But I digress. What was I saying? Oh, yes, it’s always interesting how the end of one year and the beginning of another can inevitably make you evaluate your life in some regard. Some make resolutions. Others reflect on what the past year meant to them. Speaking of which, my sister, Cheryl wrote a fantastic newsletter with some tips on how to take a close look at the past year from many different angles. Check it out here.

2006 brought me many gifts – a stronger body and better health; travel to fun places – Vegas (where I had the pleasure of meeting my wonderful new friends, Bob and Melissa, or as I like to call them “Bolissa.” Hey, Brangelina can do it, so why can’t they?), Key West, Orlando, Provincetown; immersion into the world of soccer and wonderful friends as a result – Ame, Andréa, Blou, Tim, Carleen, Beth, Jim, etc., etc.; a deepening friendship with Paul and Roy through the love of music and many shows seen together; the opportunity to see some wonderful speakers – John Holland, Brian Weiss, and as always, my sister, Cheryl. Looking back, I realize, I am one fortunate chick. 🙂

So, what did 2006 bring to you? What was just wonderful about the year? Conversely, what didn’t work for you last year, and what can you do differently this year to give it another try? If something’s not working the way you want it to, the solution is as simple as taking a different approach. The definition of insanity, after all, is doing the same thing over and over again, expecting a different outcome. Not that I’m recommending complete sanity. That’s just boring.

Take advantage of the motivation and hopefulness the start of a year brings. Take one, small action toward that goal – keyword being “small”. One small step leads to the next which leads to the next. There’s nothing like progress to keep you motivated. You’ll begin to feel like that million bucks you resolved to make this year.

4 comments on “The Possibilities a New Year Brings

  1. Ps. I LOVE Meryl! We need a movie night soon!

  2. I love reading your “blogs”…your thoughts…and insights…Thanks for sharing so much of you…and thank you for your friendship…I’m so thankful for you and Missy in our lives!!

  3. Aw, thanks Andréa! You both made my gratitude journal as well.

    Oh, and HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

  4. Kerri,

    I love that we have gotten to know each other and become friends this year as well!… I look forward to more and more great times!….

    So here is one of the things I am grateful for…

    For the friendship with you and Missy. 🙂

    Andréa

Leave a Reply

