4 Comments

The Day of Love

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone! A day to express your love….

Whether you are in a romantic relationship or not, today is the day to celebrate love – and to share the love. Often on this day, people think only of a partner to whom they should express how they feel. Au contraire! Today – and everyday for that matter – is the perfect time to tell everyone who has a place in your heart what they mean to you.

Today I called my parents to tell them I love them; I sent greetings to all six of my siblings and my cherished friends. Telling people what they mean to you is a natural high; it makes you feel alive!

Let the beautiful photo below inspire you to share your heart, taken by a woman named Ilina:

love.jpg

Yes, it can be scary to drop your guard; your wall of protection. Most of my life I walked with the belief that if you showed vulnerability, people wouldn’t like you or stick around. But, boy, what a feeling when I let that wall down! In the past couple of years, I have made the most incredible, authentic connections with people who have become such an important part of my world. To think that wouldn’t have happened if I hung onto that belief as tightly as I had been…

So, go for it – make a phone call, send a note. Let someone know they matter to you. It’s better than any drug out there (I’m assuming, of course). 🙂

4 comments on “The Day of Love

  1. Awww, thanks Ka Ka! I love you, too. 🙂

  2. Thanks for joining the conversation, Joan. I love the added thought of the number of people out there who don’t think they matter – how a smile can change their day, and even their life. Here Here! Let’s not walk with our heads down anymore and our eyes on the ground. Make eye contact with the people you pass on the street. Smile. Say hello. I am certainly going to think twice when I am out and about now. Thanks, Joan!

  3. Kerri, You’re right on as usual! Life is about connections. At the end of the day – at the end of our life – all that matters are the connections we made, the people we loved, and the people who loved us. And there are so many people out there who don’t feel they matter to anyone. When we take the time to connect with them – a kind word or smile – we are ‘seeing’ them and acknowledging them, and letting them know they matter. Every day should be Valentine’s Day.
    Thanks, Kerri!

Leave a Reply

