1 Comment

I Have a Confession to Make…

I’m in love with Harry Connick, Jr. (don’t tell Melissa). 🙂

hcjweb.jpg

We went to see his New Orleans tour at the Wang Center in Boston (a beautiful place to see a show, by the way), and it blew me away. I bought these tickets as a Valentine’s Day gift for Melissa as she has always loved his music, primarily, and later his acting, etc. I knew I would enjoy it as well as I like his music, too, but man oh man, I didn’t expect to experience what I did.

There we sat, in the first row of the mezzanine level, watching a little boy live his dream. He performed with a big band, honoring the classic jazz music of New Orleans. He told stories of growing up in NoLa where he would play piano in the jazz clubs at the tender age of five (clubs there get going around 10 AM). He would sit among the musicians and just have a ball as a kid. And that attitude clearly has stuck. Numerous times throughout the show, he was joined by two legendary jazz musicians from NoLa (pictured with him above), and when he was, you saw him turn into a gleeful young boy.

hcjdance.jpg

He danced around the stage in a playful, joyful way – just feeling the music and not caring a bit what he looked like. He was so in the moment. Watching this man fully live his passion was quite an inspiration. I felt privileged to be a witness to it.

Melissa and I love to see all kinds of live music, and as she said, “This was the best show I have seen in a long, long time.” If you get the chance to see him, please go. Give yourself the gift of this experience.

One comment on “I Have a Confession to Make…

  1. Kerri,

    Your writing always makes me want to run out and live the same experience. You should have written copy for J. Peterman catalogs. Not only did you bring my imagination right into the theatre, but I could see Harry dancing around the stage like a little boy. Thanks for sharing. But, seriously, stop doing this. I’m going to feel like I’m living in the shadow of your experiences – doing everything you do, just a few weeks later.

    Love,
    Bob

Leave a Reply

