2 Comments

A New Dawn, A New Day

What a site yesterday to see millions of people in Washington, D.C. to celebrate the dawning of a new day!

3215748032_c9a87233fa

We haven’t seen the country come together like this since 9/11. Fortunately, this time, the impetus is of hope and inspiration instead of tragedy. Regardless of your political leaning, you had to have felt the energy in the air on Inauguration Day. I hope, if Obama wasn’t your candidate, you didn’t let that taint the feeling of community.

Now it’s our job to make sure the movement continues. Of course, the cynics are already spewing their rhetoric. “Obama’s not going to live up to everyone’s expectations.” “He’s not the Messiah.” Or as I heard on talk radio today, “Everyone thinks he’s going to be able to fix everything. They’re going to be sorely mistaken.” What these people don’t seem to get is that the difference with this time around is that we feel included; we feel we can be a part of the solution. The message of the Obama administration is that the prosperity of our country is all of our responsibilities. We, as citizens, can’t sit back and expect our leaders to magically fix all the problems or rescue us. We have been called to action this time around instead of frozen by fear.

Below is a note I sent to my eldest niece and nephews yesterday (those of voting age), prompted by the hope I felt watching the inauguration coverage. Upon re-reading, I realized it’s a message not just for them, but for me, too. And you.

Dear Liamarie, Tom, and David,

Please indulge me as I reach out to my eldest niece and nephews on this Inauguration Day with hope and excitement for what the addition of your voting generation can do for our collective world. I hope you seized the opportunity this year to vote in your first presidential election. If you didn’t, let that be the only time you allow that privilege to pass you by. If you did, and regardless of you whom voted for, I ask that you join and/or reaffirm your commitment to the mission of service.

It’s the one-for-all and all-for-one mentality that will make our nation and world thrive. We are all on this journey together. Let’s not forget our brothers and sisters next door and across the globe. Everyone prospers. Everyone suffers. Everyone has a story. Take time to learn someone else’s story. It is by doing so that your compassion and empathy will deepen and grow. And it is those traits that will help to unify.

So, take a few moments today to watch some of the day’s coverage, and realize that you are a significant and crucial part of this new world. Simply live authentically and you will have fulfilled your duties.

I love you,

Auntie Kerri

After sending this note, I learned that my nephew, David, was actually in D.C. for the events. I’m so glad he took the opportunity to go down there and be a part of it all. I’m sure it’s an experience he will never forget! I can’t wait to hear all about it and live vicariously through him. 🙂

Finally, I would be remiss if I didn’t make a mention of thanks to George W. Bush for the eight years he served in office. While I am less than thrilled with the job he did, I can’t imagine a more difficult position to hold. So, thanks, G.W. for giving it your best.

2 comments on “A New Dawn, A New Day

  1. I was there, and it was a great day. What you wrote definitely touches upon the feeling of the crowd that day. I was moved by one woman who walked through the crowd embracing each person she passed, and as she reached for our hands she repeated over and over, “We finally have our president. He’s for all of us, no matter who we are.”

  2. Hi BO7: Well written, your E-Mail to Liamarie, Tom & David was so inspirational and knowledgeable, you are a very loved Aunt to all of them (14). Guess who loves ya baby.

    Mama

Leave a Reply

